Reviewing: Bad Moms

635960794761692796-df-12691r1

Whenever a comedy movie like this is set to be released, I’m on the fence right from the beginning. Movies like The Hangover, Due Date and Sisters are always hit or miss for me because, despite having a bit of a dirty mind myself, some of it goes way overboard for me. And I don’t need to see bodily functions or disfigured private parts β€” that just doesn’t do anything for me and turns me off to the entire experience of the movie.

So, I was a bit apprehensive when considering Bad Moms. The last movie I saw along these lines was Sisters, which was a great disappointment for me. However, the combination of Mila Kunis, Kristen Bell and Kathryn Hahn intrigued me so much that it was my choice for our second movie of the weekend.

This movie, while having all of the vibrant characters and sexual comedy, did also have the lesson-teaching, feel-good moments that helped round out the movie.

First off, Mila seemed to fit into the roll of overworked mother struggling to keep it all together, pretty well. It seemed to be a different role for her, but I think she did it very well. (Of course, it’s always hard to see anyone else other than That 70s Show Jackie, but she succeeded in breaking this image with this movie.) Kristen Bell was her usual, amazing, adorable self. She did such a great job portraying the stay-at-home mom stereotype, but her transformation at the end broke it completely in half. I actually wanted to audibly cheer for her at that moment (because standing up for yourself in an emotionally abusive relationship is a celebration-worthy victory.)

And Kathryn Hahn. She is seriously one of my favorite actresses. I would argue that she is quite possible the most important primary character in this movie. She is already strong, independent and unafraid of standing up for herself, voicing her opinion and owning her mistakes, while also empowering the others to do the same. She brings so much confidence to each and every one of her roles and this was no exception. Ugh, I just love her.

And Christina Applegate actually did a wonderful job being a bitch, unlike Maya Rudolph in Sisters, which was just a horrible casting choice.

While this movie played on the various stereotypes about suburban mothers, they break them in the end. The whole point of this movie was to have the conversation of what it is really like to be a mom in this day and age, while also empowering moms to recognize that doing their best is good enough as long as you love your kids. This movie did not light the fire in my uterus to reproduce, but it did make me grateful for my own mother.

My mom would probably be classified as Amy, without the marital problems. Both she and my father worked full-time jobs while I was in school, and managed to come to all of the important events and accommodate my extra-curricular activities. And she was snapping a million pictures of each and every thing. I love my mom, okay?

Back to the movie: the jokes and character cues were very well-timed, especially from Hahn’s Carla. I laughed so, so much, not only at the jokes, but also Bell’s responses to said jokes (see the sweatshirt-penis joke halfway through the movie.)

But this movie was also so empowering, even if you aren’t a mom. It’s about being a strong, confident and self-possessed woman. I loved it and would totally watch this more than once.Β I would give it 4 1/2 stars, simply because some of the plot points and acting felt just a bit forced. But those moments were totally overshadowed by the hilarious jokes, empowering speeches and pulsing dance parties.

Definitely go see it.

β€”

What did you think of Bad Moms? Do you think this is a good representation of contemporary motherhood? Why do you love your mom? Let’s talk.

One comment

Leave a Reply

